The Iowa City Human Rights Commission is seeking nominations for its 36th Annual Human Rights Awards Breakfast.

Individuals, businesses, or organizations whose ongoing work, service, or contributions have positively impacted Human Rights either locally or abroad may be nominated in the following categories:

The Isabel Turner Award: For working for the rights of individuals to get fair and ethical treatment and/or volunteering time to an organization or business that works for these.

Rick Graf Award: For long-term commitment of an individual, business, or individual with a service organization, to a specific cause or for the benefit of a specific group of persons.

Linda Severson Award: For outstanding contributions to human rights by an individual in a service organization.

International Award: For significant contributions to human rights in the global community.

Bill Reagan Business/Community Award: For outstanding contributions to human rights by a business or organization. 

Kenneth Cmiel Award: For active contributions to the field of human rights by a college or graduate student.

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online. Nominations are open until Friday, Sept. 27, 2019.

The Awards Breakfast

The awards will be presented at the annual awards breakfast beginning at 7:15 a.m. (the program runs from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m.) on Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2019, at the Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University.

Breakfast tickets are available online now at the early bird rate of $20 per ticket and go up to $25 per ticket on October 14. All tickets must be purchased by October 18. No tickets are sold at the door.

Keynote Address

Dr. Melissa Shivers, Vice President for Student Life at the University of Iowa, will deliver the keynote address.

If you will need disability-related accommodations in order to participate in this event please contact the Equity Director, Stefanie Bowers, at 319-356-5022 or Early requests are strongly encouraged to allow sufficient time to meet your access needs.

Date of publication

Wednesday, August 28, 2019