The Iowa City Human Rights Commission is seeking nominations for its Annual Human Rights Awards.

The Human Rights Awards were created in 1984 to celebrate individuals, businesses, or organizations whose ongoing work, service, or contributions have positively impacted human rights either locally or abroad. A list of previous honorees can be found here.

Award Categories

The Isabel Turner Award: For working and/or volunteering for the rights of individuals to get fair and ethical treatment and/or volunteering time to an organization or business.

Rick Graf Award: For long-term commitment of an individual or business to a specific cause or for the benefit of a specific group of persons.

Linda Severson Award: For outstanding contributions to human rights by an individual in a service organization.

International Award: For significant contributions to human rights in the global community.

Bill Reagan Business/Community Award: For outstanding contributions to human rights by a business or organization.

Kenneth Cmiel Award: For active contributions to the field of human rights by a college or graduate student.

How to Submit a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online. Nominations are open until Thursday, Sept. 22, 2022.

The Awards Ceremony

Honorees will be recognized on Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2022, in a small ceremony at the Vue Rooftop, Hilton Garden Inn Iowa City Downtown University.

Date of publication

Wednesday, August 03, 2022



Board, Commission or Committee