In 2014 the Iowa City City Council appointed an Ad Hoc Senior Services Committee to evaluate area senior services – including The Center and its programming – that receive financial support from the City. This request stemmed from the anticipated decrease in City revenue due to statewide property tax law reform. The committee subsequently recommended that The Center diversify its operational funding and decrease its reliance upon the City’s General Fund for support. 

During the summer of 2015, a committee of Center program participants (named Committee A) met to review and evaluate The Center’s various funding streams. Committee A then submitted to the Senior Center Commission specific recommendations for fee increases and cost recovery. The Commission approved those recommendations, agreeing with the committee that the proposed fee increases are achievable, inclusive and reasonable. Committee members also recognized that fee increases are only a part of the overall funding plan, and that other fundraising activities would contribute to The Center’s annual funding goals. 

Of the fee increases that will go into effect July 1, 2016, these will affect the majority of our constituents:

  • Annual membership, single Iowa City resident: from $33 today to $40 in July
  • Additional household members, Iowa City residents: from $20 today to $25 in July
  • Annual membership, single non-Iowa City resident: from $60 today to $75 in July
  • Additional household members, non-Iowa City residents: $36 today to $45 in July​ 

In addition, modest increases will be applied to semi-annual and hourly parking permits, locker rentals and other services. All approved Committee A fee increases can be found in Committee A's comprehensive report

Committee A members include Jason Chen, Cheryll Clamon, Beth Clopton, Mary Dusterhoft, Ed Flaherty, Ken Gamb, Mark Holbrook, Shirley Lindell, Bonnie Love, Tom Schulein, Gary Schwartz and Bob Wiley. Center staff would like to thank committee members for their work on The Center’s behalf.

Date of publication

Friday, December 11, 2015