The Iowa City Police Department celebrated annual award winners and welcomed three new hires during a ceremony on Wednesday, April 3, 2019, at City Hall.

Annual Award Winners

The ICPD presents three awards annually to recognize employees for their accomplishments during the previous year.

Officer Eric Nieland received the Dick Lee Award, Stationmaster Donna Bogs (retired) received the Civilian Employee of the Year Award, and Officer Jacob Belay was named Officer of the Year.

Richard Lee Award 

The Richard “Dick” Lee award was established in 1999 by several retired ICPD officers to honor the life work of Captain Dick Lee, who served as an Iowa City Police Officer for 32 years. The annual award is presented to an officer in recognition of outstanding sustained efforts over the last year which positively impacted the community through a program or activity. 

Investigator Nieland is currently assigned as the department’s Domestic Abuse Investigator. As written in his award nomination letter, Eric has genuine compassion for people and has a way with victims that helps them feel safe and able to escape abuse. He works closely with advocacy groups to achieve safety for victims. 

Civilian Employee of the Year 

The Civilian Employee of the Year award was created in 2013 by retired Community Service Officer Lynda Ambrose to recognize the efforts and contributions of non-sworn personnel who are critical to maintaining the success and mission of the department on a daily basis.

Donna Bogs worked for the Iowa City Police Department for 42 years before her retirement in March of 2019.  During her time with the department she served as a clerk/typist, dispatcher, and station master, receiving the Iowa Dispatcher of the Year Award in 2009.

Officer of the Year 

The Officer of the Year Award is presented annually to the officer who most significantly demonstrates work and behavioral ethics that mirror the Iowa City Police Department’s oath of honor, and exemplifies a positive image of the Iowa City Police Department as well as the community.

Officer Jacob Belay currently works as a patrol officer on the Evening Watch, serves as a Field Training Officer, and is a member of the Iowa City Metro Special Response Team.  In 2018, he received the “Jim Meyerdirk Award for Academic Excellence,” for finishing as the top academic performer at Drug Recognition Expert certification school.

New Hires

The Department also welcomed and swore in three new officers who are all currently certified by the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy and have been employed as police officers in various communities throughout Iowa.

Jeff Reinhard, 26, is from Coralville, and received an A.A. degree in Criminal Justice from Kirkwood Community College.  He has 5 years of prior experience, working in Grinnell from 2014-2016 and Coralville from 2016-2019.

Greg Hall, 39, is from Iowa City.  He has a B.S. from Upper Iowa University and has been a certified officer in Iowa since 2007.  During that time, he worked for the Tipton Police Department, Jones County Sheriff’s Office, and most recently, the University of Iowa Police Department.

Nate Rose, 32, is from Mount Pleasant, Iowa, and has a B.A. from the University of Iowa.  He has six years of experience as a police officer in Urbandale.

Date of publication

Wednesday, April 03, 2019