The Linda Severson Award recognizes individuals for outstanding contributions to human rights in a service organization.


1984: Karla Miller, Rape Victim Advocacy Program
1985: Pat Meyers, Domestic Violence Project
1986: Dr. Classie Hoyle, University of Iowa Office of Affirmative Action
1987: John Dyson, Sertoma International
1988: Jean Hagen, Iowa City Free Medical Clinic
1989: Mary Martinez, The Crisis Center
1990: Victor Manuel Arango, MAP International
1991: Dorothy Paul, United Nations Association
1992: Carol Thompson, Department of Human Services
1993: Jason Chen, Christian Reformed Church
1994: David Leshtz and Barbara Smith, University of Iowa Hospital School
1995: Carol Spaziani, Iowa City Public Library
1996: Cynthia Coffin, Special Populations Involvement Program
1997: Ruth Wagner, Greater Iowa City Housing Fellowship
1998: Lori Bears, TASH and ARC
1999: C. E. Peterson, Rotary Club
2000: Sally Murray, Vocational Rehabilitation Services
2001: Reverend David Schuldt, Wesley Foundation
2002: Monique Dicarlo, Women's Resource and Action Center
2003: Rita Offutt
2004: Mary McCue
2005: William Gorman, Systems Unlimited, Inc.
2006: Crissy Canganelli, Shelter House and STAR Program
2007: Allan Axeen, HACAP
2008: Annie Tucker, Mediation Services of Eastern Iowa
2009: Christine Scheetz, United Way of Johnson County
2010: Sue Freeman, Broadway Center (Neighborhood Centers of Johnson County)
2011: Joan Cook, Retired & Senior Volunteer Program (Elder Services, Inc.)
2012: David Leshtz
2013: Kafi Dixon, Shelter House 
2014: Ginny Naso, United Action for Youth
2015: RaQuishia Harrington, Broadway Neighborhood Center
2016: Jeanne Nunley, HACAP
2017: David Schwindt, Iowa City Police Department
2018: Kevin Sanders, NAACP
2019: Angie Jordan, South District Neighborhood Association
2020: Ron Berg, Prelude
2021: Sara Barron, Johnson County Affordable Housing Coalition