Public meeting 

The fourth* Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. 

The next meeting of the Iowa City Telecommunications Commission will be held on Monday, December 17, at 5:30 p.m. in the City of Iowa City Cable TV Office, located on level 3A of the Tower Place parking facility at 10 S. Linn St. 

*The December meeting is being held one week earlier than the Commission's regular meeting date due to the fourth Monday of December 2018 being a City holiday.

If you will need disability-related accommodations in order to participate in this program/event, please contact Ty Coleman at 319-356-5454 or  Early requests are strongly encouraged to allow sufficient time to meet your access needs.


View the agenda for the December 17, 2018 meeting.

View archived agendas.

Sign up to subscribe to email notifications when the most recent Board, Commission, and Committee Meeting Agenda Packets are posted. 

Apply to serve on the Telecommunications Commission 

There is currently one vacancy to fill a three-year term that began on July 1, 2018. 

Learn about eligibility requirements and apply to serve on this commission.

Staff contact 

Ty Coleman 

Board Members

Term: 03/13/16 - 06/30/19, Paul Gowder              

Term: 07/01/17 - 06/30/20, Matthew Brenton                

Term: 07/01/17 - 06/30/20, James Pierce   

Term: 07/01/18 - 06/30/21, Kyla Paterson

Term: 07/01/18 - 06/30/21, Adam Stockman




Contact staff

Number of members 


Appointed by 

City Council


Three years


Include serving as a review board to resolve disputes between any subscriber or potential subscriber and the cable company; reviewing and auditing reports by the cable company to the City as required by the Cable Television Ordinance; working with the public, the media, the City, and the cable company for the purpose of making recommendations on various issues; monitoring and promoting community programming and the use of the local access channels by a wide range of individuals, institutions, and organizations; informing and educating citizens on matters related to cable TV and other communications systems; and monitoring and reviewing State and Federal legislative and regulatory action or change.

City Government