Public meeting 

Every fourth Thursday at 5 p.m. at the Library; third Thursday in November and December.


09/27/18 Agenda

View archived

Sign up to subscribe to email notifications when the most recent Board, Commission and Committee Meeting Agenda Packets are posted. 

Staff contact 

Susan Craig 

Board Members

Term: 07/01/13 - 06/30/19, Janet Freeman

Term: 07/01/13 - 06/30/19, Diane Baker

Term: 07/01/13 - 06/30/19, Jay Semel

Term: 07/01/15 - 06/30/21, John E. Beasley

Term: 07/01/15 - 06/30/21, Wesley Beary 

Term: 07/01/15 - 06/30/21, Monique L. Washington

Term: 07/01/17 - 06/30/23, Kellee Forkenbrock           

Term: 07/01/17 - 06/30/23, Carol Kirsch 

Term: 07/01/17 - 06/30/23, Robin Paetzold, Johnson Co. rep




Contact staff

Number of members 

Nine. If the Library is receiving funds for county-wide public library service on a current basis, one of the nine members may be a non-resident trustee.

Appointed by 

City Council. The one non-resident member shall be appointed by the City Council with the approval of the Johnson County Board of Supervisors.


Six years. Three members' terms expire June 30 of each odd-numbered year.


The Board of Library Trustees is a semi-autonomous body of nine persons empowered by State Law to plan, direct, and control all affairs of the Public Library. This includes having control of funds allocated or given to the library, determining long-range goals of Library service, adopting written policies to govern operation of the Library, and employing a competent staff to help plan and implement the Board's service goals.

City Government