Public meeting 

First Monday of each month at 3:30 p.m.


9-13-2021 Agenda 

View archived

Sign up to subscribe to email notifications when the most recent Board, Commission and Committee Meeting Agenda Packets are posted. 

Watch previous meetings

Beginning April 29, 2021, City Channel 4 began providing video of Climate Action Commission meetings. You can watch or listen to previous meetings on City Channel 4's website. Video and audio will be uploaded within two business days of the scheduled meeting.

Staff contact 

Sarah Gardner

Board Members

Term: 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2021, John Fraser

Term: 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2021, Grace Holbrook

Term: 10/01/2019 - 12/31/2021, Eric Tate

Term: 11/19/2019 - 12/31/2022, Commission Vacancy

Term: 11/19/2019 - 12/31/2022, Kasey Hutchinson

Term: 11/19/2019 - 12/31/2022, Becky Soglin

Term: 09/15/2020 - 12/31/2023, Benjamin Grimm

Term 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2023, Matt Krieger

Term 01/01/2021 - 12/31/2023, Megan Hill

MidAmerican  Representative, Jesse Leckband

U of I Representative, Stratis Giannakouros 


Contact staff

Number of members 

Eleven members consisting of nine at-large members appointed by City Council, one MidAmerican  representative, one University of Iowa representative. Whereas, residents of Iowa City should be given preference, but members are not required to have Iowa City Residency. 

Appointed by 

City Council


Three year term expiring on December 31.


The Climate Action Commission serves as an advisory body to the City Council to advise, research, analyze, promote and with approval, implement initiatives that support the city’s climate and sustainability goals, including the Climate Action and Adaptation Plan and any related or updated plan hereafter.

City Government