Public meeting 

As required



View archived

Sign up to subscribe to email notifications when the most recent Board, Commission and Committee Meeting Agenda Packets are posted.

Watch previous meetings

Beginning April 29, 2021, City Channel 4 began providing video of Airport Zoning Commission meetings. You can watch or listen to previous meetings on City Channel 4's website. Video and audio will be uploaded within two business days of the scheduled meeting.

Staff contact 

Michael Tharp

Board Members


Term: 01/01/17 - 12/31/22,  Mike Parker, JC Appointment                  

Term: 01/01/18 - 12/31/23, Dennis Keitel, IC Appointment

Term: 01/01/19 - 12/31/24, Randy Hartwig, Chairperson

Term: 01/01/21-12/31/26 Commission Vacancy, JC Appointment

Term: 01/01/22 - 12/31/27, Commission Vacancy, IC Appointment


Contact staff

Number of members 


Appointed by 

Johnson County Board of Supervisors (2) and Iowa City City Council (2). The fifth member is chosen to act as Chair and is selected by a majority vote of the members of the Airport Zoning Commission.


Six years


  1. To recommend amendments to the current Iowa City Airport Zoning regulations, including the repeal thereof.
  2. To recommend the adoption of new Airport Zoning regulations.

City Government